( Six Congress rebel MLAs joining BJP in New Delhi)

March 23, 2024

In fast political developments on Saturday six disqualified Congress rebel MLAs and three Independents joined BJP in New Delhi.

The rebel MLAs had deserted the Congress party during election for a Rajya sabha seat from Himachal Pradesh by cross voting for BJP candidate leading to defeat of Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi, along with three Independent MLAs on February 27.

The Congress rebels have already been disqualified by Speaker of Himachal Vidhan Sabha Kuldeep Pathania under anti-defection law for defying the whip during passing of budget.

MLAs Sudhir Sharma elected from (Dharamshala), Rajender Rana (Sujanpur), ID Lakhanpal (Badsar), Ravi Thakur ( Lahaul- Spiti) , Devinder Bhutto (Bangana) and Chaitanya Sharma elected from Gagret, joined BJP in presence of Union Minister Anurag Thakur and former CM Jai Ram Thakur in New Delhi.

Three Independent MLAs KL Thakur ( Nalagarh), Hoshiyar Singh (Dehra) and Ashish Sharma elected from Hamirpur, also joined BJP in New Delhi on Saturday after tendering resignation to the Speaker on Friday .

The six disqualified MLAs have already moved the Supreme Court against their disqualification and the Election Commission of India has announced to hold by-polls in six Assembly constituencies along with Lok Sabha election in Himachal on June 1.

After joining the BJP, the six MLAs blamed the party leadership for the current crisis and expressed faith in the policies of PM Narendra Modi.

 While former CM Jai Ram Thakur has welcomed the decision of nine MLAs to join BJP, former Chief Minister and veteran BJP leader Shanta Kumar has expressed his displeasure over compromising of party principles.

( A file picture of Shanta Kumar)

He said,” Today there is no politics of principles- nothing would happen by building Ram temple unless we follow the ideals of Ram and politics of principle; I will not say anything- and  If I say something tears will come out of my eyes,” he added.

Sharing is caring!

One thought on “Six disqualified Congress MLAs and three Independents join BJP, Shanta Kumar disapproves

  1. शांता ji ने सही कहा, राम मंदिर बनाने से कुछ नहीं होगा. हमे राम जी के आदर्शों पर भी चलना पड़ेगा. इन्होंने भाजपा का मज़ाक बना के रख दिया है

Comments are closed.