BJP Candidate Kangana Ranaut making victory sign her win in Mandi .Photo Jai Kumar

The results for election in four parliamentary constituencies and by –polls in six Assembly constituencies have been a mixed bag for both Congress and BJP in Himachal Pradesh, while BJP has swept the parliament polls, Congress have won majority seats in HP Vidhan Sabha by-elections.

The BJP has swept the parliament election in the state as BJP candidates have won in all four constituencies. In Shimla parliamentary constituency BJP candidate Suresh Kashyap defeated Congress candidate Vinod Sultanpuri by over 90000 votes.

In Hamirpur parliamentary constituencies Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Anurag Thakur registered his fifth consecutive win by defeating Congress candidate Satpal Raijada by over 172000 votes.                     

In a biggest upset for Congress in Kangra parliament constituency ,BJP candidate Rajiv Bhardwaj defeated former Union Minister Anand Sharma by a huge margin of  2,51895 votes.  

In Mandi parliamentary constituency BJP candidate film actress Kangana Ranuat defeated PWD Minister Vikramaditya Singh , son of former six times HP CM Virbhadra Singh,  by 74,755 votes.  

However, in by-elections for Himachal Vidhan Sabha Congress has retained four Assembly seats out of six Assembly constituencies which went to polls. Congress candidate Ranjit Singh Rana defeated Rajender Rana of BJP by 2440 votes in Sujanpur constituency. Rakesh Kalia of Congress defeated Chaitanya Sharma of BJP by 8487 votes in Gagret constituency; in Kutlehar constituency Congress candidate Vivek Sharma defeated Devinder Bhutto of BJP by over 5356 votes. Congress candidate Anuradha Rana congress defeated Independent candidate Ram Lal Markanda by 1960 votes in Lahaul- Spiti constituency; here BJP candidate Ravi Thakur was relegated to third place.

In Dharamshala Assembly constituency BJP candidate Suhdir Sharma defeated Congress candidate Devinder Jaggi by 6526 votes. BJP candidate Inder Dutt Lakhanpal defeated Congress candidate Subhash Chand by 2125 votes in Badsar Assembly constituency.  

Sharing is caring!

One thought on “BJP sweeps parliament election in HP , Congress wins majority Assembly By-elections

  1. It seems Himachal Voters were suffering from political fatigue. Other factors may be poor governance and organisational management by the loosing side. Also, somewhere it was perhaps’ one vote fo PM, one for CM’’!

Comments are closed.