Three Independent MLAs – Hoshiyar  Singh (Dehra), KL Thakur (Nalagarh) and Ashish Sharma (Hamirpur) staged a dharna outside in of Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha  Speaker at Shimla on Saturday to press acceptance of their resignations from Himachal Sabha.

The three MLAs had tendered their resignations to Himachal Pradesh Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania on March 22 and the Speaker has kept the resignations pending and seeking legal and constitutional opinion.

The Speaker is reportedly verifying whether the resignations were tendered under “duress or for any other consideration.”

 The three legislators arrived at the Vidhan Sabha and sat there holding placards.

They  said , “ We have resigned from the Assembly at our own will and without any pressure, the Speaker should accept our resignations and  we would  move the court in case of any further delay.”

The MLAs had joined BJP on March 23 and have announced to contest next elections on BJP tickets.

The Elections for four seats of parliament and by-elections for six Assembly constituencies, where six Congress rebel MLAs were disqualified under anti-defection law for defying the party whip, have already been announced for June 1 and notification for the elections will be issued on May 7.

While the three MLAs are keen, by-elections in their constituencies are also held on June 1 along with other elections but the election cannot be announced before acceptance of their resignations and vacation of Assembly seats.

As per constitutional experts, “It is sole prerogative of the Vidhan Sabha Speaker to accept MLAs resignations after verification.” 

Sharing is caring!