The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced Assembly election schedule for five states i.e. Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram. 

As per the election dates announced by the ECI on Monday  the voting in all five states would be held between November 7 and 30 while the  counting of votes would be undertaken on December 3rd.

In Madhya Pradesh voting would be held on November 17, Mizoram on November 7, Telangana on November 30, Rajasthan on November 23 and the voting in Chhattisgarh would be held in two phases on November 7 and 17.  

The counting of votes in all the states would be undertaken on December 3rd and the election process would be completed by December 5.

The Assembly elections in five states are  quite significant as these would be major tests of popularity of Prime Minister Narender Modi led NDA and political strength of recently constituted opposition INDIA alliance, before next Parliament election due in May 2024. 

The opposition  looks quite euphoric after its victory in LHDC polls where it has won 19 seats out of 22 seats against two seats won by BJP . The elections in Ladakh were held after abrogation of Article 370 and bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir state into three Union Territories of Kashmir, Jammu and Ladakh.  

Sharing is caring!