The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced to hold by-elections for three Assembly constituencies of Himachal Pradesh on July 10, along with ten Assembly constituencies across seven states of India.

Making this announcement on Monday, an ECI release said, “The by-polls are held to fill up vacancies created due to death or resignations of the incumbent MLAs.”

In Himachal Pradesh by-polls will be held in three Assembly constituencies i.e. Hamirpur, Nalagarh and Dehra, which have been declared vacant after acceptance of resignations of three Independent MLAS – Ashish Sharma (Hamirpur), KL Thakur (Nalagarh) and Hoshiyar Singh (Dehra).

As per the election schedule issued by the ECI,” The notification for the elections will be issued on June 14, the last date for filing of nomination papers is June 21, the poll papers will be scrutinized on June 24 and the last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is June 26; polling will be held on July 10 and the counting of votes will be on July 13, as the by-elections will be completed before July 15”.

Three Independent MLAs had tendered their resignations from HP Assembly on March 22 and joined BJP.

Though, the MLAs were insisting on acceptance of their resignations by HP Vidhan Sabha Speaker Kuldeep Pathania but he accepted their resignations last week after the parliament elections in the state and their seats in HP Vidhan Sabha declared vacant. 

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *