The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has approved the names of three candidates for by-elections in six Assembly constituencies of Himachal Pradesh scheduled to be held on June 1, along with elections for four parliamentary constituencies.

As per a press release issued by KC Venugopal , General Secretary of the AICC , the Congress president Malikaarjun Kharge has approved the names of Capt Ranjeet Singh Rana( (Retd)  from Sujanpur , Rakesh Kalia from Gagret and Vivek Sharma from Kutlehar to contest the ensuing by-elections to Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly .

The by-elections in six Assembly constituencies i.e. Sujanpur, Badsar, Dharamshala, Kutlehar, Gagret and Lahaul – Spiti have been effected after disqualification of six rebel Congress MLAs under anti-defection law. All six rebel MLAs i.e. Rajender Rana (Sujanpur), Sudhir Sharma (Dharamshala), Chaitnaya Sharma ( Gagret) , Devinder Bhutto ( Kutllehar) , ID Lakhanapal ( Badsar) and Ravi Thakur from Lahaul – Spiti, have joined BJP and also nominated by the party to contest the by-elections.   

Sharing is caring!