Mandi District Congress Committee president Prakash Chaudhary has resigned from the post and from the Congress party.

He made an announcement through his Facebook account in this regard saying, “I Prakash Chaudhary resigns from the presidency of Mandi district Congress Committee, from Congress party and all posts.”

Three times MLA from Balh constituency of Mandi district, Chaudhary also remained Cabinet Minister in BJP-HVC Alliance government from 1998 to 2003 and in Virbhadra Singh government from 2012 to2017. He had faced defeat in the last two elections in 2017 and 2022 against BJP candidate Inder Singh Gandhi.

He was elected for the first time on the ticket of HVC floated by Sukh Ram ticket but had joined BJP as part of a strategy of Sukh Ram to save the alliance government in the state. However, Chaudhary had joined Congress and contested all elections after 2003 on Congress ticket and remained a strong loyalist of six-time former Chief Minister late Virbhadra Singh.

Though Chaudhary was not available for his comment, however a party source close to him said , “ Chaudhary was feeling ignored in the present Congress government at the interference of a youth Congress leader close to the CM in the constituency affairs and was forced to resign as his grievances were not addressed by the CM and party leadership.”

Sharing is caring!