(Newly elected Speaker Kuldeep Pathania with the CM , leader of the opposition and pro- term speaker )

Fifth time Congress MLA Kuldeep Pathania, representing Bhatyaty Assembly Constituency of Chamba district, has been unanimously elected Speaker of the 14th Himachal Vidhan Sabha.

Kuldeep Pathania had filed nomination papers for the post on Wednesday. As Congress enjoys a clear majority with 40 MLAs in the house of 68, the BJP did not put up its candidate to contest the election. The election of Kuldeep Pathania was announced by pro term Speaker Chander Kumar on Thursday morning.

Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu , Leader of Opposition Jai Ram Thakur, Deputy CM Mukesh Agnihotri , Chander Kumar and others Congratulated Mr. Pathania.  

He has been elected MLA from this Constituency in 1985, 1993, 2003, 2007 and 2022. Mr Pathania is the fourth person to hold this post from Chamba district. Earlier, Pandit Jayant Ram Upmanyu, also belonging to Bhatyat tehsil was first Speaker of Himachal Vidhan Sabha.  Mr. Desh Raj Mahajan and Mr. Tulsi Ram also remained Speakers  of HP Vidhan Sabha.

Sharing is caring!