( Rana and Kajal after joining BJP in New Delhi on Wednesday )

In a major jolt to the Congress party in Himachal Pradesh  two Congress MLAs  Pawan Kajal elected from Kangra Assembly constituency and Lakhvinder Rana elected from Nalagarh constituency, joined the BJP in New Delhi on Wednesday.  

Both MLAs took BJP membership in presence of BJP national president JP Nadda, Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur, Union Information & Broadcasting Minister Anurag Thakur and state BJP president Suresh Kashyap.

This has definitely bolstered the morale of ruling BJP in the state working hard to repeat its government in the next Assembly election due in November or December.

There were reports of both Rana and Kajal joining the BJP since Tuesday and it became certain when both of them headed to Delhi. As a preemptive measure All India Congress Committee (AICC) had removed Pawan Kajal from the post of state working president and expelled them from the Congress party today for six years.

Lakhvinder Rana has been elected three times on Congress ticket from Nalagarh constituency i.e. in 2011 , 2012 and 2017  while Pawan Kajal was elected as an Independent in 2012 and on Congress ticket  in 2012 Assembly election. 

Sharing is caring!